About the Competition

The University of St Andrews Music Society intends to award £1,000 to the composer of an original piece for symphony orchestra, in order to celebrate the University’s 600th anniversary.

This competition is open to all under 30, or in full-time education. It is anticipated that submissions will be received from composers of all level experience: from those still at school, to those young composers already making headway in the profession. The piece will be between 9-12 minutes long, must not have been previously performed or submitted elsewhere.  Shortlisted entries will be performed at a concert on 21 April 2011, when entries will be judged by a panel comprising Sally Beamish, Thomas K. Butler (Director of University of St Andrews Symphony Orchestra), Michael Downes (Director of Music, University of St Andrews), Richard Ingham (Fellow in New Music and Composer in Residence, University of St Andrews), and Louise Richardson (Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of St Andrews.)  The piece will be used throughout the University’s 600th Anniversary Celebrations.

The deadline for submission is 7 Jan 2011.  Further details are available at www.st-and.ac.uk/~mussoc/600.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s