Prelude to the 600th: less than one week to go.

University of St Andrews Symphony Orchestra
21 April 2011, Younger Hall, 7.30pm.

The culmination of an eighteen-month search for a new orchestral work to celebrate the 600th Anniversary, this concert isn’t to be missed. Alongside three world premieres, the University of St Andrews Symphony Orchestra will be performing Borodin’s In the Steppes of Central Asia and Dvorak’s Symphony No. 9 (“From the New World”).

On the night, you’ll get to hear three contemporary orchestral compositions, from up-and-coming composers that are considered amongst the most promising musicians in the UK. Mark Boden’s Six Degrees is a musical investigation of climate change: a depiction of the scenario of global warming. Simon Smith’s Against All Things Ending draws inspiration from the Last Chronicles of Thomas Covenant novels of Stephen Donaldson, being an abstract reflection on the emotional aspects of the work. Simon Wilkin’s The Sun Rising is an examination of student-hood and the idea of the journey – physical and emotional – to and through university.

These three new works have been shortlisted for performance on the evening, and the winner, to be decided on the night, will receive £1,000. The judging panel is made up of Prof Louise Richardson (University Principal), Sally Beamish (internationally acclaimed composer), Michael Downes (University Director of Music) and Richard Ingham (University Fellow in New Music and Composer in Residence).

Mark David Boden – Six Degrees (WP)
Simon David Smith – Against All Things Ending (WP)
Simon Wilkins – The Sun Rising (WP)
Borodin – In the Steppes of Central Asia
Dvorak – Symphony No. 9 (“From the New World”)

£7/£5 (students). Ticket available on the door, via the On the Rocks boxoffice, or online at

For more information, including details of the composers, pieces, and selection process, visit Visit our facebook page:!/event.php?eid=115263031885779.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s